Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Thursday, 06/22/2006 - 5:35 p.m.

I did a bilateral breast reduction today like a fucking *pro*, to the point the surgeon and both the other techs complimented me on how well I was doing. Whoo hoo! And then I fucked it all up by being 1 needle short at the closing count and looking like a moron. Feh. We found the needle, stuck to the drapes, thank you deities, but I still felt like a dumbass. I found Lotta's needle yesterday when her count was screwed up and she found mine today when my count was screwed up, and that feeling of teamwork is the only thing that kept me from turning red and/or tearing up.

I know, I know, everyone's had an incorrect count at least once so I'm not the only one, but damn. I was doing so *well*. I pulled some of the supplies for the case, brought the supply cart to the room, found a prep table, arranged the furniture, scrubbed, and set up my Mayo and back table...all by myself. The circulator trusted me enough to leave me alone to set up, Lotta (my preceptor for the past 2 days) trusted me so much that she didn't even scrub in until the case started.

Today was still a good day, even if my ego got a little squashed.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 0

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!