Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Wednesday, 05/03/2006 - 5:59 p.m.

I semi-assisted on a vaginal repair and did a vasectomy mostly alone! Whoo hoo! Today was a great day and even if tomorrow sucks ass, my first day on cases went really well. Looking at strangers genitals was not as awkward as I thought it would be.

It took 3 tries to get myself gowned and gloved for the repair because I was so nervous. Plus I had these terrible gloves called Duraprene that suck all kinds of ass. But 3rd time was a charm and I did OK. Not outstanding but OK. The vasectomy rocked, though, and I'm really proud of that one. Shar asked me if I wanted to assist the dr. or be the tech and I picked assist. OMG! I held hemostats and wiped blood and OK, pulled down on some stranger's 'nads, and it was glorious. There was a problem with a specimen and Shar trusted me enough to handle things alone for a little bit while she straightened out the specimen issue. I passed Allises and 'stats and wiped more blood and did better than I ever did in any checkoff. The dr. only had to repeat himself once asking for an instrument. Added to all that was the presence of my program director. He left when the patient arrived but he was there for my scrub and set-up. Let's add another degree of difficulty, eh?

Today was a great day.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 0

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!