Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Tuesday, 08/29/2006 - 11:39 p.m.

The evening shift still rocks and I'm still glad I moved to evenings. However, I probably should have finished my orientation period on days to make sure I got a wide variety of cases because I'm pretty much screwed when it comes to ortho/neuro cases. I shot myself in the foot back in clinicals when I didn't take on as much ortho/neuro as I could. (I can scrub an endarterectomy, though, or a fem-pop bypass so all that time in CV wasn't wasted.) I'm trying really hard not to be a whinerbaby about ortho cases but seeing other techs flat-out refuse to do certain cases makes me want to refuse to do ortho. Feh. I won't refuse, of course, but let's have special treatment for all or not at all.

The calming influence of the evening crew has helped me immensely. I don't wig out near as much as I did 2 weeks ago. I don't feel as alienated as I did on day shift, either. We all understand after 5 pm we're on our own and we're all we have. There's no relief shift coming in, no calvary to come help us out, so when we get slammed with 3 ER cases in a row that need surgery *right now*, we're it.

Today was a good day.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 0

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!