Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Thursday, 11/11/2010 - 10:49 p.m.

IED - improvised explosive device

Tonight at the Target, the woman in front of the woman in front of me couldn't find her debit card when it came time to pay. It was about 9:30 or so and only 2 lanes were open so we all just stayed where we were. (I've never seen all the lanes at Target open, not even at Xmas.) Chickie rooted around in her purse and wallet and came up with a bunch of gift cards that covered the amount. She apologized to me and the woman in front of me and that lady says, "'Don't worry about it, it's happened to all of us at one time or another.'" I said almost the same thing, chickie went on her merry way.

Woman in front of me and I get to talking about not letting the small stuff get to you:

WIFOM: I just can't get all worried over the little stuff any more.

Me: Yes ma'am, I'm with you. I try hard not to get bent out of shape over the little stuff but sometimes it's hard.

WIFOM: My son was over in Afghanistan and ran into an IED...

Me: {interrupting} Oh, please tell me he's home safely.

WIFOM: Oh yes, he's home now. He spent a year in Walter Reed but he's home now.

Me: Walter Reed? The hospital with the mold and all the complaints and lawsuits?

WIFOM: That's the one. He spent a year there recovering. He didn't come home from Afghanistan in one piece but he got to come home. I just can't get worked up over the petty things anymore.

Me: {snots up}

So yeah. That's my reality check for today.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 0

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!