Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Friday, 06/06/2008 - 5:15 p.m.

I know absolutely jackshit about white wine, or any other wine for that matter. DC is making poached salmon in white wine for dinner tonight and of course he sent my dumbass out for the ingredients.

Conversation at the liquor store:

Me: This is a white wine, right?

Hippie dude working the counter: Oh, yes, ma'am, and it's a good one, too.

Me: It is? I know crap about wine. I just need to cook with it.

HDWTC: Oh yes, ma'am, it's a good one. It's very dry and fruity. It's a really good white, actually.

Me: Darlin, it has an half inch of dust on it *and* it's on sale. Exactly how good can it be? I'm not going to drink it, I swear.

HDWTC: Oh, you should really try it. Chill it for about an hour beforehand and drink a little while you cook.

Me(sotto voce): It's horsepiss. DC is gonna kill me.

Luckily DC knows even less about wine than I do so all is well. Salmon goodness, here we come.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 0

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!