Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Thursday, 05/18/2006 - 4:51 p.m.

Whoo hoo! I did two ab. hys. today and was kind of dippy on the first one but I had my groove on the second one. I was working with my own OBGYN and he was just as pleasant and nice as he could be. The dr. this morning was pleasant as well but his assistant intimidates the hell out of me. She's super-sharp and super-competent and makes me feel like a moron on wheels. She's never been anything but nice to me but I still feel stupid around her.

Tomorrow is my last day in gyn-uro and I'm looking forward to Tuesday since I'll be in a new department but I'm nervous, too. I watched a coronary artery bypass yesterday and it overwhelmed me just to watch. There were about 6 trays of instruments, a perfusionist, 2 different anesthetists, and they went through a whole shitload of blood. I watched them stop the patient's heart and almost cried. I don't know if I can handle CV. I'd like to go to general surgery because I know I can handle that. I'm looking forward to general cases, actually. Orthopedics don't thrill me but I know I have to take a turn through there.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 0

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!