Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Saturday, 11/17/2012 - 2:04 a.m.

Not so much on the posting frequently and I think I know why.

I'm one of "those" people - I don't text, I don't have any kind of phone that does anything except make phone calls, I still haven't figured out how to use my Hello Kitty digital camera (and it's over a year old), I don't have a webcam, I avoid email whenever possible, and I try really hard not to spew stupid mindless shit on Facebook.

Internet-centric crap kind of blows.

Digital and electric media kind of blow.

I remarked the other day "'I am so over the internet'".

I spend so much time chained to "The Box" (that's what I call my computer) that the internet isn't fun anymore. I've spent a big chunk of 2012 extracting myself from The Box. I retired the munch I started 15 years ago because I was so unbelievably tired of all the stupid-ass repetitive questions. I retired as the hostess of the Tuesday night meetings *finally* because I was tired of being the cheerleader, trying to get people to suggest new places to meet and topics for discussion. And I'll be retiring from the management board of our local dungeon, effective at the end of December. I've broken DC almost completely of sending me stupid emails ("Here's a link to something you care absolutely nothing about but I'm sending it anyway! I could have shown it to you when I got home but if I don't send it to you immediately I might explode!"); that's been an uphill battle for the better part of two years. I've blocked every app, game, and invitation I can think of on Facebook and unfriended repeat offenders. I use the delete button viciously on my vanilla email address.

I don't want to be a hermit or avoid all human contact but I truly in my heart of hearts believe technology has spiraled out of control.

previous - next

Click here to talk smack about this entry 2

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!